estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Rattler
25-04-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Horricane
The End's Façade

Estonia, the country that gave birth to great bands like LOITS and the cult death metallers DECEASE. It was nice to come across one more Estonian band, since the musicians I know from there are really few. This country has given me a few, but great examples of Metal. Let’s see if HORRICANE will continue this "tradition"...

Formed in 2002, the Estonian unit debuted in 2004 with its "The Lynch Lawyers’ Death Squad" demo. Soon after the release, they managed to sign a contract with the Swedish Black Mark for the release of their debut full-length album "The Lynch-Lawyers". Contact between them and their label started to fade, so after a mutual termination of their contract, they prepared and released the self financed sophomore effort "The End’s Facade".

Even though these guys have spent their own money to record, promote and distribute this release, the work they have done is more than great! A jewel case CD that you rarely even see from a professional label. This made a really good impression on me from the very first time I got this album for a review. What about their music now?

The band is really close to what it claims. Mid paced Death Metal with threatening keyboard melodies that create a really dark vibe. Imagine a modern Death Metal band that has a bit of the old school brutality, but filters all of its Death Metal influences and adds a more Progressive touch on top of all this. Imagine a mixture between GOJIRA, MESHUGGAH, SAMAEL (they even play a cover song of this band in this album) and a lot of Death Metal. These guys have some really beautiful ideas that nail you down with crushing riffs and monstrous vocals, but there are some times that they lose it and your attention is driven away from this album. I believe they should just work a bit more on the song structures. Not to be good, to be better!

The sound that dresses "The End’s Facade" is also heavy as fuck, adding even more beauty to the overall result. I guess that modern metalheads (if such a term exists) should definitely check them out, since I am sure they will find many interesting things in this album. The rest of you classic metalheads better stay away.

3,5/5

Author: Yiannis D
Zine: Metal Temple
www.metal-temple.com

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us