estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Rattler
25-04-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Nitrous
Dominant Force

Drag racing champion Lauri Kuriks decided to form a band in 2004 and even in his musical creations he couldn’t resist to involve his passion for cars. So which type of music is fast, raging, and powerful? Yes, you guessed it: Thrash metal indeed! No wonder, Nitrous calls themselves ‘drag race thrash metal’. Two years after their first full-length, “Dominant Force”, was a fact.

As you see everything is possible in the big world of metal. In this case we have some race freaks that made the band name, the artwork, and even the lyrics all fit a car and race theme. I think it’s a bit to far fetched. When you look at the cover you really don’t see this is thrash metal, or even a metal album. It’s just… a simple car, yeah.
But of course it’s the music that matters! The first thing you notice is the thick guitar sound, juicy but rough. The album starts good with “Torque Monster”. It has a cool groove, but it gets boring after a while, because that same groove keeps returning. Next song, “Activation”, is more up tempo. A comparison with Slayer doesn’t harm here. With Araya like vocals, a brutal thrash riff, and a wacko solo.
I’m a lot less enthusiastic about “Pro Mod Action”. It has one of the weirdest thrash riffs I ever heard; also here I got bored after a while. The title track and “Trial And Error”, are a bit of an exception against the other songs. From time to time death metal vocals take over the lead, which let the songs gain in brutality in no time.

What I heard was a nice piece of tight thrash metal to bang your head off, but every single time the tempo goes down I got bored very quickly. So Nitrous, keep the pedal to the metal!

Author: Dieter de Mey
Zine: Vampire Magazine
www.vampire-magazine.com

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Pikk  06.06.2006 00:26
lauri on ikka mitme ala mees
oskab autoga ralli panna ja siis muusikat teha:)tubli poiss..paneme tina?:P:O

Draakon  19.10.2006 22:26
Õnnitlused Laurile nii uue auto (pigem raketi) valmimise kui ka uue plaadi ilmumise puhul. Arvatavasti on Lauril põhjust meiega koos rõõmu tunda, saavutades kaks nii suurt asja peaaegu ühel ajal.
Nothing Beats Cubic Inches!!


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us