estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Rattler
25-04-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

You have never seen a band quite like Loits. Trust me, you haven't! In a world full of masked, painted or reclusive bands, Loits are a complete one-off! This is the Estonian five piece's 2004 released album that took eight months to make, features incredible, surreal and emotive artwork and layout, and mixes all forms of black metal, be it cold and relentless, folk-infused, pagan leanings or beautifully quiet and atmospheric. In the vein of old Ulver, Windir, Belenos and maybe a little of Enslaved and a heavy Satyricon comparison, but all given a thoroughly unique, amazing re-dressing into WWII style soldier clothes, battle imagery, and, also quite unique is the fact they make it sound like they are having fun playing the serious edged music and delivering their important message to the world about Estonia's misunderstood involvement in the war. The additional good thing about Loits is that unlike most bands with a political or religious message, it isn't overbearingly done so much so that it spoils the music. The quality is definitely there first and foremost and a fantastic album is delivered for fans of all forms of black metal.

Author: Paul Priest
Zine: Zero Tolerance
www.ztmag.com

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us