estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Realm of Carnivora
28-01-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

Loits's "militant flak'n'roll" has caused some waves here in the northern stratosphere, mostly musical, but also their image has risen some eyebrows. Guys are wearing nazi uniforms in the pictures, but there's another reason for it that you may think of. They sing about Estonian history, when the land was between two dictatorships. Estonian stood with Germans against Soviet Union, but aimed for independent Estonia. This album is dedicated to Estonian freedom fighters.
"Flak'n'roll"? Loits's music is black metal derivative. Old, simplistic stuff in vein of Hellhammer and Norwegian forefathers of the genre, but still with their own touch. Productionwise, this is just too clean. It takes roughness out of the music, which is performed with vigour, especially grim vocals (sung in their native-tongue, but lyrics are also printed in English too). For me, those more atmospheric songs, eg. 'Võitluslipp' (something like 21st century Czechs Root), 'Vanade Legionäride Laul', 'Kodu' and 'Oskar Ruut', sound much better and more complete. Acoustic guitar works very well on some of the songs indeed, as does a few lines of clean vocals. More rigid songs just feel plodding around at times. Synths, which aren't used often in front, are horrible at times, especially those pop licks at the end of 'Furor Aesticus'.
Maybe shorter songs would work, but the production is damned well wrong kind for this music. This is very promising effort, but doesn't manage to catch my heart.

Author: Jani Laine
Zine: Archaic Metallurgy
www.archaicmetallurgy.com

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us