estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Realm of Carnivora
28-01-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

Goddamn, what a masterpiece!! If this isn't a revelation, I don't know what is! Formed in 1996, the Estonian horde of Loits has been abroad the scene, but due to some misfortunes (labels suddenly ending their activities, a guitarist dying...) they've never seemed to properly make their voice heard, at least this is my impression. I hope I come to change that with this review, once and for all! Black Metal scene, meet Loits! Stick this name into your heads! You'll be forever thankful, trust me on this.
Loits called my attention after I read an interview in Terroroizer magazine. Their imago showed to be really once of a kind: all dressed-up in 2nd World War military gear, but staged really proffesionally, and making great action-pictures (not the sort of crap-pictures like Graveland!). Logically, a band that invests in such proffessionalism must have something special to offer on a musical level as well, I thought. I'm so glad I was right! This is easily the best album I've heard in 2005.
Loits combine a lot of different kinds of structures within their songs. Where I was expecting some new sort of War-Metal, I got amazingly good Black Metal instead! By times a bit experimental, it sounds to me as an original mixture between bands like Khold, Satyricon, Drakthrone, Ved Buens Ende...(!!), and Isving (especially concerning the bonus-track on "Dark Waters Stir"!). "Vere Kutse Kohustab" is an album you can easily hear every day without ever getting fed-up with it. The songs are really varied and superbly well performed. The drums just tottally kick ass. The guitars create perfectly directed structures that sooner or later just had to be invented, cause the world is lesser place without 'em. Another credit goes to the vocalist, which obviously understood the picture and knows what to do with his voice! Nothing in these tracks gives evidence of anything less than perfection. I am so amazed. With also a perfect production, there is really nothing I don't like on this album. I just don't give it a 10 because that mark is reserved for Devil himself. [9,5]


Author: Taras Van Dijk
Zine: Ancient Ceremonies
www.ancientceremonies.com

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us