estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Rattler
25-04-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

Music: Black Metal
Country: Estonia
Website: www.loits.org
Cool Songs: Vanade Leegionaride Laul, Soomepoiss

Much like ENTOMBED playing “death’n’roll”, Estonia’s LOITS has created its own style of extreme metal, ala black metal, mixed with rock’n’roll, which they would come to describe as “flak’n’roll.” The group mentioned the meaning of this term saying flak rhymes with black (like black metal) and means anti-air gun, so basically it describes the band as “militant black metal rock’n’roll”, a fitting description.

‘Vere Kutse Kohustab’ consists of twelve tracks of mid-paced, rockin’ groove black metal. Although this album contains a few moments of short blasting drum beats and quick tremolo guitar riffs, the majority of the album consists of straight, down picking, mid-paced grooves. Also, the faster moments do not show the band playing at hyper speed, the music and style just gets louder, more intense, and slightly faster. Through the majority of the album, the drummer hits the skins or kicks the bass drum at a medium pace, but aptly fills in musical breaks with rolling double bass and quick blasts.

‘Vere Kutse Kohustab’ has a slight ethnic leaning with the band alluding to their native Estonia folk music. The most obvious reference to Estonian music comes in the fact that all lyrics are sung in the Estonian language. This language is the perfect fit for the medieval guitar riffs and moments like the album’s acoustic beginning and synthetic (it sounds like a keyboard) accordion. The slow, eerie accordion fits this type of music much better than the happy, fast accordion of FINNTROLL. The keyboard accordion reappears on the sixth track, this time sounding more like militant brass.

Although not overbearingly obvious, a militant vibe persists through out the album, especially during the bold, clean vocal narrations. The one sheet that came with this album carefully made it clear that LOITS are not Nazi by explaining the country’s involvement in World War II. So in addition to receiving a descent black metal album, I also got a history lesson.

‘Vere Kutse Kohustab’ is a descent black metal album, but will by no means take the black metal scene by storm. The guitar rhythms rock and are catchy. The keyboard sections add a touch of folk of the already-folksy guitar rhythms. The main complaint I have with this album, though, is the pace tends to drag on without much change. If the group incorporated more speedy change ups and added more keyboard sections like the parts I mentioned above, it would make for a much better listen. Fans that cannot get enough of the mid-pace rhythms of KHOLD, SATYRICON’s slower moments, OPHTHALMIA, and older DIMMU BORGIR may want to give LOITS a listen.

Author: Darren Cowan
Zine: Metal Centre
www.metalcentre.com

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us