estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Realm of Carnivora
28-01-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Taak
Koerapööriöö

Having not heard this band before, I was expecting some Sabbath esque doom rock going by the cover art, and to be honest, I was not far off. Black Sabbath might be an obvious influence to this band, but in some ways they have their own unique take on doom rock.

The opening cut “Korjusepäev” comes blaring from both speakers with a balls to the wall attitude. The opening riff, yet somewhat generic, is instantly memorable, but this is not Taak’s main selling point. The band’s main selling point has to be their ability to mix Funeral Doom influenced keyboards with such ease.

Throughout the album’s duration, I can often recall myself humming along to these keyboard lines. In songs such as “Tähist ja tolmust” and “Öö” the music is kept interesting through the bands use of atmospheric keyboards.

The guitar work on this album is excellent, but the listener is sometimes left with a sense of déjà vu. The pentatonic based riffing style of both Kaido ´Tsunami´ Tiits and Urmas Jõgi manages to keep the listeners head bobbing throughout the albums 11 tracks.

Throughout these 11 tracks, the slightly more upbeat “Öö” would be the albums standout. On this track, the band manages to mix a power metal influenced gallop with the atmospheric keyboard lines of Kristjan ´Christ´ Virma.

Variety is not high on Taak’s list of priorities, but this album is still highly enjoyable. Fans of bands such as Black Sabbath, Witchcraft and Wall of Sleep should check this out.

Author: Colin
Zine: Born in Blood
www.borninblood.co.uk

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Nilas  15.07.2006 17:01
This like rules i listened to it like one million times.:!:!:


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us