estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Realm of Carnivora
28-01-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Metsatöll
Terast mis hangund me hinge 10218

As I was incredibly impressed by the first offering I had ever heard from this band (Hiiekoda, see a previous review), I wanted to get my teeth into the second CD I had received by them.

The two years between the two releases has let the band grow, and improve in every department, which is pretty scary, as I honestly didn't think that such a good band could improve by so much.

The release manages to keep the traditional Folk-Metal sound that I loved so much about Hiiekoda, but has made their sound much more epic and much more powerful, each song is like a war chant.

Musically this band remain impressive, with a rich selection of instruments in their arsenal, although this time they take more of a back seat while some excellent riffing and drum work begins to show itself.

As previously mentioned, this release is more epic than the last, and this is shown of in the vocals more than anywhere else, in almost every song Markus sounds like he is shouting to the Gods themselves in a fit of rage during battle, it is truly impressive to listen to.

I am very reluctant to give an album a perfect 10, for that to happen it would have to be an album that I would pick above anything else I have ever heard, and while it is impressive, and certainly my favourite Folk-Metal release I have to give this promising Estonia release a 9.75/10 I would seriously recommend this release to any fans of Folk-Metal or Power Metal. This is truly a masterpiece.


Author: Toby
Zine: Born In Blood
www.borninblood.co.uk

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Jänes  11.11.2005 17:11
Oi, natukene veel ja lähengi Rock Cafèsse Metsatölli vaatama! Jee.

Marcelo Santos  23.01.2006 03:38
Sorry,I don't speak english.E tambem nao falo o idioma da Estonia,mas mesmo assim quero deixar 1 comentario,gostei muito do instrumental e dos vocais.

.......  13.02.2006 13:36
metsatöll ruulib täiega õigemini metsatöll is cool

g-zet  21.04.2006 14:12
Bom ouvir-se que nosso Metsatöll está espalhando a palavra sobre o mundo.

g-zet  21.04.2006 14:13
Ahjaa... dvd tahaks ka juba kätte saada :D

frederik ss-leegion  03.06.2006 15:19
METSATÖLL ON JÕHKER LOOM


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us