estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Realm of Carnivora
28-01-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Metsatöll
Hiiekoda

Not usually being a fan of non-English lyrics in music, that is, unless the music and vocals do a far better job at conveying the meaning on the song than the actual lyrics do, I really did not know what to expect from this Estonian band (who I knew sang entirely in Estonian) whenever I put this CD into my stereo.

From the first track "Ma laulaks seda luguda" I was hooked, the language barrier was not an issue at all with this band, they are more than capable of telling their story in their mother tongue.

This Folk-Metal band take the listener through 18 tracks of music inspired by years of tradition. The music on each track is beautiful, focusing heavily on traditional instruments, such as an Estonian rendition of the Bagpipes, as well as several other instruments, this is certainly more folk than metal in terms of music.

The vocals used in this album are as lyrical as they are potent. While containing a certain whimsical feel, they are also very powerful, vocally the stand out track of this album would have to be track 5 - "Hundi Loomine", in my mind the song conjures up ideas of great warriors getting ready for battle.

You seriously need to hear this release to fully appreciate what I am trying to get across with this album, but basically put, if you want blood, gore and blast beats, walk away. If you want to be taken on a journey through Estonia's rich and vibrant past via the medium of some excellent Folk-Metal, I would suggest you pick up this CD as soon as possible.


Author: Toby
Zine: Born In Blood
www.borninblood.co.uk

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Simon  26.01.2006 20:49
Metsatöll is the best GROUP in the world. thanks you for you're music.

I from in Belgium

ranno  14.04.2006 12:25
cool mehed pange täijega edasi :D

Not Important  28.06.2006 20:26
The song's weird, but very cool! Like a lot to hear it.. I'm from Brazil.

Paul  06.02.2007 07:55
Love it! Love the mission of the music too.

Thiago  22.10.2007 03:36
I'm from Brazil too,

good music, good band


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us