estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Rattler
25-04-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
East Trading Wang
Favela. Yayo. Caipirinha.

This rather sludgy offering landed in my CD player recently, with Kurt Cobain type vocals and a sludgy sound, this band are a very mixed bag.

On the one hand you have some excellent, beefy riffs, some great breakdowns and some impressive drum work. But on the other hand you have these really weak lyrics - the vocals take a while to grow on you, but eventually I found myself liking them.

As the CD progresses, some good tracks that become evident, I particularly enjoyed "Freakadell", but that's really a stand out track on an album that just doesn't cut it in my book.

I could easily imagine this band being good live, but on CD, just very very weak - maybe it just isn't my thing, I don't listen to a lot of stoner rock/sludge and maybe a fan would enjoy this, but I just can't let myself get over the lyrics to enjoy the rest of it.

If I had to compare this band to someone, think of a bad (and I mean bad) version of Orange Goblin crossed with Nirvana, and you are kinda there.

Author: Toby
Zine: Born In Blood
www.borninblood.co.uk

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

tarmo, V  28.05.2005 05:02
Seven Days on rosin Radio Mania saias.




P.S. otse loomulikult subjektiivne

tarmo  22.06.2005 20:18
PS. Radio Mania on rosinasai Tootsi mõistes.

"Favela. Yayo. Caipirinha." on üle mingi aja MIDAGI.......
Peale J.M.K.E. "Külmale Maale"-d.......
....Või TOOL-i Lateralust.................
............


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us