estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Realm of Carnivora
28-01-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

When you hear a band describe themselves as patriotic Estonian heathen/black metal (a.k.a "flak 'n roll"), you immediately take notice. Are they some sort of militant right-wing faction? Coming from an exotic eastern European country, is their music as bleak as a decaying Belarussian ghost town? And finally... is there a chance in hell that I'm actually going to enjoy the album?

To answer these respective questions:

Not in the least. No, but it's not spring picnic music either. Yes, this album is indeed a good listen.

To issue an odd comparison, Loits remind me of a groovy Marduk at half the speed. The guitar sound is white hot and comprised of open chords. Raw and simple. The drums are snug in the 4/4 pocket, accentuating certain arrangements with double bass, random fills and the occasional tempo change. The vocals depart from Marduk's sound, employing a slow, sinister croak instead of an all out banshee scream.

Now, what do they do with this sound that makes them "patriotic" or "black"? As it turns out, the album is a tribute to fallen Estonian soldiers who were embroiled in bitter conflict when the Third Reich went to war with neighbor Russia. Neither was a popular side for the Estonian people, though at the time, communism was seen as a bigger threat. Sure enough, Estonian guerilla soldiers continued fighting against Soviet occupation after WWII and into the early 1950s. It's a dark and sad history that lends itself well to Loits's black approach.

The band's aptly tagged "flak 'n roll" sound evokes the hardnosed, "fuck-all" sentiment that must have prevailed among the country's men at that time. "Vere Kutse Kohustab" roils and rages over twelve tracks that plant the Estonian flag firmly in the rotten soil of both black metal and rock and roll territories.


Author: Keefe
Zine: Deadtide
www.deadtide.com

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us