estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Realm of Carnivora
28-01-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

This is actually the latest and tenth release (second full length) of this Estonian Black Metal horde. Formed in Tallinn back in 1996, this conceited quintet bases its music in strong nationalist ideals (not national socialist) and a patriotic, historic vision of the World War II. "Vere Kutse Kohustab" ("Call of the Blood Obligates") consists in twelve proud battle hymns, where the Rock structures are mixed with the Black Metal savagery, resulting in an accurate hybrid they prefer to call flak n' roll… a pretty appropriate name considering the basal concept of the band. Musically the band moves mostly at mid paced velocities, the mid tuned guitars drive the whole music accompanied by consistent, sometime blasting drums. There are some discrete keyboards lines adding interesting, sometimes dissonant effects and the accordion-like sounding passages adds a remarkable antique feeling. The only things I disliked about the keyboards, are the bizarre, somewhat ridicule closing lines at "Furor Aesticus". The bass work is also quite notable, with a rocking and notable performance adds a firm base for the rest of the instruments. The vocals are mostly mid tuned growling shrieks, somewhat reminiscent of Abbath's vocals (Immortal). Clean vocals made its appearances several times along the disc, with a really varied performance that ranges from low/macabre, clean/deep to clean, proud mid toned vocals. There's something in Loits music that tend to remind me the early sound of Ancient Rites… some guitar lines maybe, or some mid paced structures… I really don't know... but I think it's a good point of reference. Unlike the most of the WWII based Black Metal bands, Loits managed to recreate perfectly the historical context, their whole music seems to smell like gunpowder, you can almost feel the bombers over Tallinn, and the closing hidden track seems to have be sung from the depths of a cold and wet trench, by a bunch of tired soldiers accompanied only by an old accordion during a brief moment of calm… "Vere Kutse Kohustab" is an absolutely recommendable album, a work full of history, pride and power…

Author: Alvaro Pacheco
Zine: Burning Black
www.burningblack.net

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us