estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Realm of Carnivora
28-01-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

This fragile moment was long awaited for - Loits' latest effort "Vere Kutse Kohustab" ("Call of the Blood Obligates") is finally out. Three years have passed since their debut album "Ei Kahetse Midagi" ("Regret Nothing") was released. So what have we got here - 12 songs clocking in at just over 50 minutes, seven of them being brand new, others are re-recorded tracks from earlier singles, a neat book-style package with a vinyl-like disc, a special multimedia treat and a sound that's been described as flak'n'roll. What gives?
Loits are basically a black metal band, but their special feature is the rock'n'rollish sound, meaning that the songs are quite loose and easy to listen to. Pauses are used very well and cool dynamic passages are catchy and thoroughly enjoyable. Of course the basis is still black metal with its shrieks and fast drums. Also, they use clean vocals on several occasions, sometimes with distortion. A fine example here would be the track "Kodu" ("Home") which immediately brought to my mind HIM and Chris Isaac's "I don't wanna fall in love" chorus. If you just fell off your chair cause you thought HIM and black metal are two components that don't mix, then take a deep breath and relax cause Loits will prove you wrong. Anyways it was just a quick association, the track is one of the best ones on the album. When it comes to black metal vocals then they are typically to Loits relatively "clean" which suits their music well.
Keyboards are used boldly, sometimes to soothe the listener and to emphasize the role of rock'n'roll, sometimes to illustrate the militaristic features. Despite of being strong, the keyboards don't end up being trivial. The overall feel of the album is perhaps a bit melancholic and romantic. Although the second track "Eesti Auks" ("In Honor of Estonia") is a real energizer with it's fast pace and captivating tunes (unarguably the jolliest song on the album), the hyper-optimistic surge ends there with the rest of the songs creating a slightly darker atmosphere.
The production is good, maybe occasionally lacking sharpness a bit. It's not actually a problem, but in "Vanade Leegionäride Laul" ("The Song of the old Legionaries") it suppresses the clean vocal interludes too much - a shame really. Apart from that the record is innovative, mature and a great listening experience which doesn't get boring.
Loits have always been misinterpreted as a nationalist-socialistic band because of their image (Seeing their militaristic outfits often causes people to draw certain conclusions) but in reality they focus on the Estonian nation, specifically Estonians in the whirlwinds of World War 2. For example the track "Tuleristsed" ("Baptized in Fire"), which is about the first battle of battalion "Narva" against the Soviet army. The lyrics of Loits should appeal to every Estonian, foreigners might diminish the value of the album a bit due to the fact that the message is not as inspiring to them. But for those of you who are curious or hunger for knowledge, all the songs have been translated into English.
All in all, "Vere Kutse Kohustab" is yet another release that avoids stagnation and is not afraid to experiment in order to find ways of renewing black metal. Loits fired away, and with great success. The result is unique, fascinating and obligatory to try. Sit back, relax and enjoy. Or stand up and bang your head! Either way - flak'n'roll !!!

Author: Destroyah
Zine: Metalstorm
www.metalstorm.ee

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us