estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Realm of Carnivora
28-01-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

Estonia…, yeah not a whole lot of band names flourish to your brain when you think of this country. Besides Realm of Carnivora this is only the second band from Estonia I know of and only the second band I’ve actually heard. Of course the Estonian scene is a small one and so is the Baltic metal scene in general, but there are indeed some interesting artists making music in these regions. Like Loits for instance.

With a history dating back to 1996 Loits already has a few demos and one album behind them with this being their second and most recent album released in 2004. Described as Heathen Black Metal, Loits is definitely something unique. Take a little rock ‘n’ roll, combined it with black metal vocals, a little folk here and there, add a little synth for a backing atmosphere, and some Scandinavian melodicism and you’ve essentially got Loits. These Estonian’s deliver melodic rock ‘n’ rolling black metal, but certainly not in the homesexually charged Satyricon or Darkthrone vein (admit it, the two most recent from those two are pathetic) . Apparently the band writes lyrics dealing with pride for their forefathers, patriotism, and World War II, although I can’t confirm this since all of the lyrics are wrote in Estonian. A strange language indeed that sounds like it has some common roots with the Finnish language, and in fact Estonia is pretty close to Finland so I suppose that’s possible.

I’m really impressed with this band since they really rock out during the better part of the album, but there are also parts that are more black metal orientated, but largely they stick to the Black ‘n’ Roll sound. In general the whole album is good and flows perfectly from song to song, and keeps your interest for the entire fifty five minutes. Definitely worth checking out if your diggin’ that Black ‘n’ Roll sound that Satyricon made famous a few years ago, yet Satyr wishes he could make an album this damn good!



Author: JJM
Zine: Lunar Hypnosis
cp05.ionhosting.com

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us