estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Rattler
25-04-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Nihilistikrypt
Required Sacrifices

Here we have the first release of the Estonian group NIHILISTIKRYPT, which offer us some powerful and effective death metal with their demo "Requiered Sacrifices", which makes you want to bang your head, but unfortunately it's not very original. The sound varies, but is well heard, it resembles a little the sound of bands like MORBID ANGEL or maybe a little ANATA. I don't claim to be an expert on the matter, far from there, but any death metal fan will find something from this release, but personally, even if I like it quite a lot, I find no originality there.
The intro confirms our guesses that the cd is done with small pocket, the black mass and thunderstorm on the background assures us that one will find a group of death metal well in the trip, quality standard for some, somewhat wearying for others. Despite everything, we will not be bothered by that, you can really welcome the sound quality of their self-production.
NIHILISTIKRYPT present us dark and massive metal, fat unhealthy sound in the pure tradition of the death metal, which suits very well. There are some moments, as in "Virus: Human", alternations of riffs melody and riffs dissonant that you can find in "Under A Stone With No Inscription" from ANATA. The instrumental pieces (two on the whole, without counting the intro and the outro) are pleasant to the ear but unfortunately they don't fit in with the rest of the tracks, they remind a little UFO sound and are cooling down the listener.
The outro, finishing the preceding song, "Rebellion Against Thee", offers us a small setting in scene guided by Chopin's Sonata n°2 (here, an extract of the Funeral March) whose name says all: "Execution Of The Last Priest".

So in short terms, a strong and sympathetic group but they are far from revolutionizing its kind, with all the stereotypes of the death metal (as well on the level of the cover as of the sound and of the lyrics), but they use them well and give us a furious desire for headbanging.

General : 5,5 / 10 | Production : 4 / 6 | Cover : 2 / 6 | Composition : 2 / 6

Author: Barbie Rage
Zine: Les Acteurs de l'Ombre
www.lesacteursdelombre.com

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

juris / deep sonic  23.07.2006 16:52
hell yea!
no doubt, they really kick ass. they have done great show here in Riga 21.07.06 exelent!
a must cd for death metal freaks!


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us