estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Realm of Carnivora
28-01-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Metsatöll
Terast mis hangund me hinge 10218

Now here’s something interesting from Estonia’s best and currently most successful Metal band. If you compare METSATÖLL’s debut album, 1999’s “Terast Mis Hangund Me Hinge” (Steel Frozen in Our Souls), with their second album, 2004’s “Hiiekoda,” which gained them international recognition and acclaim, you’ll get quite a different sound. With the original “Terast…” you had a band influenced by the kinda-epic Heavy Metal stylings of MANOWAR with some folk melodies that mostly appeared in interludes, vocal lines, or the occasional guitar harmony. With “Hiiekoda,” the folk influences were brought to the fore with the greatly increased use of Estonian bagpipes, mandolin, mouth harp and various types of zithers.

So in 2005, amid their ever-growing success, METSATÖLL rerecorded their debut album to reflect their new sound. The „10128“ part of the title indicates the year 2005, something to do with the age of the world in traditional Estonian folklore. I never officially heard the original CD, just the MP3s that they’d put on their website and the original, good MP3.com. It was good stuff then, but even better stuff now.

Not only do we have the increased use of traditional instruments, but METSATÖLL also takes the opportunity to tighten some songs, add some nuances and take advantage of a better, heavier production. You really get an extra punch to already good songs such as “Hundiraev” (“Wolf Rage,” check out the evil vocals under Markus’s yells) and “Põhjatuulte Pojad Ja Tütred” (“Sons and Daughters Of The Northern Winds”).

I suppose that so far this review has assumed some knowledge of METSATÖLL’s style. As I mentioned above, the base is a sorta-epic Heavy Metal, fairly straightforward and powerful. On top of this we add a good deal of Folk influences in the form of traditional instruments, Folk melodies and traditional singing. The band can really rock out when it wants to (see the title track), but they’re usually more mid-paced. Vocalist/guitarist Markus apparently has a love-it-or-hate-it manly/deep voice, but I absolutely love it. Not the most range, but he uses it well and has so much emotion that it covers that particular weakness up. The band sings in Estonian about traditional Estonian beliefs and the role of the traditional Estonian nationality in the increasingly global modern world.

This is a real treat for a METSATÖLL fan and an excellent place to start for an initiate. I still really enjoy the originals, but it’s also great to hear them come back to their original material. It’s all respectfully done, which is good to hear at a time when remix CDs are unpleasantly common. Oh yeah and as a bonus we get “Oma Laulu Ei Leia Ma Üles,“ a previously unreleased track from the “Hiiekoda” sessions. It’s also available in a limited edition leather-bound, autographed version that has me absolutely salivating.

Oh yeah, just some trivia. METSATÖLL takes its name from an old Estonian euphemism for wolf, literally meaning “wood creature.” Nobody said the actual word for wolf, “hundi,” due to a folk belief that saying the name called a wolf to attack you. Just something neat to know.


Author: Keith Stevens
Zine: The Metal Observer
www.metal-observer.com

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Jänes  11.11.2005 17:11
Oi, natukene veel ja lähengi Rock Cafèsse Metsatölli vaatama! Jee.

Marcelo Santos  23.01.2006 03:38
Sorry,I don't speak english.E tambem nao falo o idioma da Estonia,mas mesmo assim quero deixar 1 comentario,gostei muito do instrumental e dos vocais.

.......  13.02.2006 13:36
metsatöll ruulib täiega õigemini metsatöll is cool

g-zet  21.04.2006 14:12
Bom ouvir-se que nosso Metsatöll está espalhando a palavra sobre o mundo.

g-zet  21.04.2006 14:13
Ahjaa... dvd tahaks ka juba kätte saada :D

frederik ss-leegion  03.06.2006 15:19
METSATÖLL ON JÕHKER LOOM


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us