estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Rattler
25-04-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Celestial Crown
A Veiled Empire

Review by Undercraft

Celestial Crown return once more again to Metal Storm with their new album entitled “A Veiled Empire” and I must say that this band doesn’t cease to amaze me, each album they improve their ways, and they grow as musicians and as a band. Of course that doesn’t mean this album is perfect, because is far from it, but is quite enjoyable.

The band once again successfully merge genres like Doom, Black and Gothic Metal, the combination between soft, melodic passages and Black Metal outbursts are quite remarkable, it gives the album a duality or a split personality if you want to call it that way.

Songs like “For The End Of Days”, “A Sea” and “Sacrifice In Red” are prime examples of the improvement of the band. You’ll find female vocals, shrieks, growls, melodic passages, melancholic leads and much more.

Of course not everything is marvelous in the album, some songs felt like fillers, and with 13 songs clocking over 1 hour, I feel this could have been a little shorter.
The sound and the whole production engineering has improved since last time, although it doesn’t reach the quality of big productions, but that’s ok, since this guys aren’t signed to a big label.

If you want to enjoy a nice album filled with doomy passages and aggressive counterattacks, I must recommend Celestial Crown, it might not be the best album of 2005, but surely ranks up good in the shortlist.


Rating: 8

Author: Undercraft
Zine: MetalStorm.ee
www.metalstorm.ee

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us