estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Rattler
25-04-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

This is an Estonian Black Metal band and this is their second full-length. I would describe their music as very Norwegian sounding Black Metal and to be a bit more precise I would like to mention Satyricon. Both the old, harsh with a real melodic touch, almost folk approach to the music and also the new Satyricon, equally harsh yet with a more Rock 'n' Roll feeling to it, and a punkish attitude to the music. Now that is a very good way to describe Loits something in between the old and the new Satyricon, not really focused on any of them but bringing them together in quite a impressive way. But they are not as harsh as Satyricon is or where, it’s a bit to clean but I can overlook that since this enjoyable, despite the keyboard. Just like Satyricon they keyboard is only there to support the darkness in the music, not to take it over and they do this quite well, although at times the sounds is a bit annoying, but what would you expect from a keyboard. The vocals are harsh and raw reminding me of Abbath, sometimes there are some clean vocals, almost choir parts but they are not that bad. I liked this, it’s nothing I would listen to a lot, but from time to time I will bring it out and listen to it. It is nothing spectacular but definitely listenable.

Author: Mordant
Zine: Minacious
minacious.atspace.com

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us