estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Realm of Carnivora
28-01-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

I had reviewed previously two 7"EPs of this young Estonian band [Legion Estland and some other which I don't remember the title right now], but I deleted those reviews in order to do this one, due to the fact that this album is their last work to date.
Loits is a young band, and I admit, I'm very cautious about young bands. Very few have this high level of professionalism. And this is their second album, released with a superb presentation and production. The cd comes in a special edition with booklet and a great multimedia presentation, and the LP is worthy of being checked out as well.
Ok, now to the point: Loits play a mixture of a midtempo Nordic Black Metal basis, some folk and rock'n roll elements. Their songs sound fresh and catchy and heavily personal. The songs are sung in their native language: Estonian, although the respective English translations are of course included here: as I said, in the interview, the songs are mainly historic and nationalistic, with emphasis in the Estonian conflicts during WWII, which they vindicate not only through their attitude, but aesthetics and historic facts.
Some of the songs here presented were previously included in their previous 7"EPs, but this time they have been re-recorded, making them sound even more powerful.
Ledo Takas is supporting the ever growing eastern european scene, filled with great bands such as this one, as all that I've heard from those lands is great. Get this album!

Author: Renzo Parodi
Zine: Psicoterror magazine

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us