estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Rattler
25-04-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

Loits, from Estonia have now released their second assault, 'Vere Kutse Kohustab', an album released on Ledo Takas Records alongside albums by the likes of Obtest, Dissimulation, and also Nahash. And yeah, you probably guessed, Loits are a black metal band.
'Vere Kutse Kohustab', over 55 minutes in duration, varies from a slower pace to high speed but overall it prefers to stay at an energetic mid-pace bounce. The combination of in-your-face punchy, grim black metal ala latter-day Moonfog recordings, the subterranean, dirty grooves similar to Khold, some folkish slashings, accordion surprises, indifferent atmospheres, and some good old rock'n roll is what Loits bring to the battlefield. The 12 tracks are diverse, always interesting, never uneventful...but not overly outstanding. They do have a lot of moments that are highly enjoyable where I can't help but my grin to myself and think that these guys are just having fun playing...although in saying that, Loits appear to be a very patriotic, militaristic band and serious about their lyrical content.
Sticking to the Baltic tongue, if you mixed the following elements of three particular voices; the gargle of Abbath (Immortal), the delivery and roughness of Gard (Khold), and an evil touch of the Emperor from the movie 'Star Wars'...I think then you'd be very close to Lembetu's vocals.
Overall, 'Vere Kutse Kohustab' is very enjoyable in its consistency and its quality endurance, although I think if Loits were to totally excel in the black metal scene, then they are going to need to push themselves further on their next release...BUT, don't get me wrong, this is a very strong record and they will get more recognition from this rather than being an unknown statistic.

Author: Ash Loh-Smith
Zine: Sinister online
www.sinister.com.au

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us