estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Realm of Carnivora
28-01-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

Somehow I cannot follow the thoughts of this band: On the one hand the label info tries to prove as hard as possible to show that LOITS isn't a Nazi band (like i.e. using excerpt of an essay or something like this from a veteran of the 11th group of nightly bombers of Estonia in WW II), and on the other side there are countless photos of Estonian soldiers from the time between 1939-45… Is Estonian history so "unspectacular" that you have to focus on just those six years? – I definitely think this is not the case! Well, at least musically 'Vere…' is a really rewarding thing, especially for those that are longing for a more "Metallic" version of SKYFORGER, leaving the use of Folk instruments away and offering us the pure Pagan/Viking/Black insanity instead. The music is very well-played, the sound is furthermore very powerful and professional – the same goes out to the packaging and layout as well! LOITS manage to integrate some very good ideas, like i.e. the use of those speeches in 'Battlestandard' that are totally integrated in the song as a whole, the original, melancholic sounding vocals in 'Furor Aesticus' or the fine beginning of 'Time To Awake'. And last but not least, the hidden track offers us a (presumably) traditional Estonian Folk song which is a fine tune that remains forever in your head! Ok, sometimes I'd wish to have more outstanding tracks, real hymns, this moment 'Vere…' is "only" serving a high standard without any bad tunes, but lacking the "really driving forces" so to say… But this doesn't mean that 'Vere…' is a mediocre album! – As said, this might be a good alternative for those longing for lesser Folk-infected version of SKYFORGER…! - Furor Aesticus!

Author: Christian Wachter
Zine: Blood Of The Ancients

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us