estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Rattler
25-04-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

Loits are far from the typical black-metal outfit. The five-piece hail from Estonia and this fact is strongly reflected in their music. Although they don’t go as far as some folk/black bands like Manegarm or Asmegin, there is a definite ethnic overtone in most of their songs. While the riffs stay true to the typical black metal mold, each one has a certain uniqueness to it that can probably be attributed to a slight folk influence. In addition, synths played to sound like accordions and other instruments add to this atmosphere.

On Vere Kutse Kohustab, the main theme is Estonian nationalism before and after the Second World War. This idea is quite fitting, since the country was threatened by the Nazis and then absorbed by the Soviet Union for half a century. These themes, delivered via the harsh croaking of vocalist/guitarist Lembetu, would probably leave a deep impact on the listener if they spoke Estonian. Either way, though, Loits’ music is extremely powerful and inspired and should not be taken lightly.

Every track on this record is solid, although standouts include Soomepoiss and Tuleristsed. Fans of symphonic and Viking/folk black metal will probably exalt this record, as it crosses into both zones and does an excellent job blending in synth and guitar. Any fan of extreme metal, however, would do themselves a good service to pick this release up.

Author: Veritas
Zine: Maximum Metal
www.maximummetal.com

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us