estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Rattler
25-04-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

To be blunt words like 'quality' or 'promising' are not ones that immediately come to mind when one comes across a Baltic metal band. That the area has a scene is not in question. Whether the bands from these countries can compete with those from Sweden, Canada or Germany is an entirely different matter.
Loits comes from Estonia and, lo and behold, is a serious contender in the evil metal sweepstakes. Neither inconceivably fast nor incredibly brutal, the band and its second album instead concentrate on delivering quality and beefy mid-paced riffing in the vein of Satyricon or De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas-era Mayhem. The singer, save for a couple of drunken singing interludes, does a fine job and often comes across as similar to Tormentor from his Mayhem days. The formula works for the band largely because of the character that shines through and the commendable quality of the riffage. The sound too cooperates and does quite well for the act. The band or label have obligingly provided English translations for the album and song titles and even included multimedia on the disc. Fans of the aforementioned band, or anyone curious about metal hailing from the Baltic region must put Loits at the top of his mind. The band should do its part and make sure it excludes the 'drunkard sailor' vocals, the polka outro and other stupid insertions from its next effort.

Author: Ali "The Metallian"
Zine: Metallian.com
www.metallian.com

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us