estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Rattler
25-04-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

The reader can make up their own minds on the subject of Loits' agenda, which as usual with politically challenging Metal is tentative and highly equivocal, with the band keen to denounce what they are not rather than commit publicly to what they actually are. Their passion for Estonian nationalism is however backed up by impressively pumping war metal that is infinitely more thoughtful than many in the field. An excellent passage opens this album by coupling lush acoustics over a sombre but pounding drive, setting sights high from the start. Elsewhere, the accorian that is intelligently employed furthers the sense of culture and heritage that Loits are obviously keen to propagate. Possibly the most effective creative point about this album is its lack of blasting and concentration on a solid, insistent dirty 4x4 swaggering beat, as popularised by you-know-who for a million others to copy. But Loits have at least infused their material with a seriousness and intelligence that is beyond the grasp of usual NS banalities. Nothing on this cd equals its opener, but it is solid, stern and somehow melancholic rather than triumphant; a much more entertaining proposition. Make of the imagery what you will, but the music is definitely worthwhile.

Author: Ciaran Tracey
Zine: Metal Ireland
www.metalireland.com

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us