estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Rattler
25-04-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

Estonian heathen black metal band Loits return with their second offering. The title means Obliged by the call of blood. The style is aggressive black metal with northern folk heritage and rock and roll spirit. Early on, after some patriotic samples, I’d decided that this was very sloppy, with mistakes not corrected in the studio. By the end of the album I’d decided I liked it, sort of. The music has no real energy and is not overly aggressive. The pace is slow with simple drumming and very basic guitar rhythms. The keyboard melodies are buried deep in the mix and are very simplistic. The vocals are growled but the delivery lacks harshness and he does not express anger. Some songs, “Voitluslipp” and “Kodu” have clean singing which is an improvement, but he does not have a commanding presence. “Kodu” also offers a bit faster pace with the drums and cymbals. “Raiugem Ruunideks” offers a better mix of clean and harsh, with the clean vocals at their best here but still no surprises in the music. I was expecting traditional folk elements and didn’t get them. I was expecting strong black metal elements and except for the initial drum burst of the first song I did not get that either. “Vanade Legionaride Laul” is musically the most interesting with some good riffs and the instrumental sections hold their own but ultimately I was driven to take out the cd printed to look like a record and put in some Lord Wind.

Author: Grimulfr
Zine: Digital Metal
www.digitalmetal.com

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us