estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Realm of Carnivora
28-01-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Legion Estland

Another attack from the Baltic region of Estland is what brings Loits, a band that I just knew from the Ledo Takas catalogue. I was very curious to listen to this band due to some weird labels given to thier music like "romantic-nationalistic-BM"... something that I definitively have to take a look at.

Legion Estland is their second attack, a 7" vinyl produced by the mighty Baltic warrior and record label Ledo Takas. Raiugem Ruunideks is the third effort this time released through Schwarze MaSSenvernichtung from US. I know that we still haven´t created the Vinyl section in this webzine (is under construction), but some records are collecting dust so I better start to write the reviews instead of being labeled as a rip off!!!

Ok, lets go back to Loits. Probably the style they were labeled as says a lot (or may be nothing), but one thing is for sure: no romantic stuff in here like Cradle of Shit (Filth) vampire/gothic stuff... may be is just the romantic view of their people and land... hard to say for me since the lyrics are in their native tounge.

Now music is quite hard to describe... I was expecting some folk influences but there aren´t at all or if there are, aren´t very obvious. First song has some melodie and vocals that reminds me to Kovenent (Nexus Polaris), but don´t be dissapointed for such comparison... I think Loits has a lot more to offer than the mentioned band.

The music can fit black metal standars, I mean heavy and dark atmospheres, twisted growling vocals (some times clean), and the typical guitar riffing of BM. Anyway the drums never get into chaotic blast-beats and rythms are mid tempo most of the times. The keyboards aren´t the typical of BM as well... most of the time unheard and bringing great horns and trumpet sounds that brings majestic atmospheres to the songs. The music bring some rock elements that some people has labeled as "black and roll"... that could give you some clues about Loits music.

At this point I must tell you that is clear that this band has an unique way to create music and certaintly they are very original, having their own sound and style.

I think would be quite useless to describe song by song this time and if after reading those paragraphs you are curious about Loits go to their webpage and check out some samples of their work.

9/10



Author: Carlos
Zine: Kuravilu Webmag
www.kuravilu.cl

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us