estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Rattler
25-04-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

Well, finally the full lenght album of Loits has arrived to my hands. Compared to their previous attacks, I think that musically there are the less diferences, but there is no doubt that the production of this album is high above the previous material... that is what we can call a real improvement, right?.
Speaking about music, Loits follows their own path. There are some Black Metal influences as well as many catchy melodies in all songs. I have just wrote about how difficult is to label their style in the previous review, so I will not waste my time in this issue. Anyway, I must say that this band is very unique, their music is probably far away from what I hear most of time (more Thrash Metal oriented), but I still like it very much. It's so straight forward, plenty of rock and roll melodies and yet misterious for being sung in their native tounge. Another fact that I like is that the keys are very subtle, almost imperceptible. Just bringing the right feeling in the right places and far away form being in the front line.
There are a lot of good songs in here, some of them re-recordings of old ones. Aeg Ärgata, is full of power from the very begining and just starting with the vocals alone... great!. Some other tunes show great changes beetwen clean and distorted guitars. Well, as you can imagine there are plenty of good music in here so check it out by yourselves.
Finally I just want to say something about the lyric's background. The whole concept deals with the position of Estonia during the WWII that it's quite interesting since they fought in the side of the Germans... as you can imagine many people has labeled the band as Nazi, an issue that the band clearly want to state as untrue and unfair. From my point of view who gives a fuck if a band is Nazi or not... Here I am to speak about music and even more: Metal, a kind of music that has never give a fuck about anything and specially with all the "stablishment". Fuck all those pussies and coward zines and distros who claim not support bands just for use some Runes in their logos and are afraid of being pointed as Nazis and probably go to church on sunday... hahahaha. They have even more prejudice than nazis!!! ok Let's leave it to here or may be Kuravilu will be labeled as Nazi as well... hahaha.
As a summary: another fine work from the Baltic area and from the mighty Ledo Takas label.

Author: Carlos
Zine: Kuravilu website
www.kuravilu.cl

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us