estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Rattler
25-04-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

Loits is no everyday Black Metal band with Pagan influences! Instead praising Satan or Odin this band's topics are Estonian history and nostalgia and fatherlandslove connected to it. With that they are absolutly free of "scene dogmas", but remain, voluntarily, dedicated to Black Metal as form of expressions, although they developed an own style, which does not hesitates from experiments. The hard inner of "Vere Kutse Kohustab", which consists halfly of the songs of their 7"EP-trilogy, is hard and grim Black Metal, not typically nordic, and some good Rock-elements, which make the music through its groove even better flowing into your blood.
Therefore helpfully is the constant mid-tempo, but the album uses its possibilities in this frame optimally. It's never boring, e.g. because of some for this genre untypical guitar-effects or sudden use of a march-music-sample. Closeness to their home and pride are always noticable feelings that unite the album. The vocals are reminding of traditional Black Metal and impressed me a lot. The very strong, grim voice is comparable in its grimness to old Immortal ... great to hear! Why can't there be such a voice in German!? ... Sometimes the original clear vocals play a leading role and lead to the most nostalgic moments on this album, which combines melancholy, hardness and hatred such impressingly. After song title 12 there is a nice "hidden track".
The CD, which looks like a small LP, includes a very tasteful designed multimedia-part.
Result: To make it to the really big ones there are a little bit of these "aha"-moments missing... those moments that let you stop breathing. Nevertheless "Vere Kutse Kohustab" is doubtlessly a very good album, which stands out from all those releases with a special, own character. I'm sure we will hear more of Loits in the future!

Author: Torsten
Zine: Final War webzine
www.aaskereia.de

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us