estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Rattler
25-04-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

"For heavens sake, the estonians arrive!" Not really wrong this sentence if you listen to the second official longplayer "Vere Kutse Kohustab" ["Obliged By The Call Of Blood"] of this band. The music of the estonian outfit is at least very original. It mixes in a great way the aggression of Black Metal with folk influences and a great dose of Rock´n`Roll-spirit, add vocals in the native language and what you´ll get is a style that´s called Flak´n`Roll by the band. Very different from the Black'n'Roll of the french Phazm or also Entombeds Death'n'Roll this mixture drives your blood and boils it. It keeps the most blackened spirit as well as lots of grooves. Four of the tracks from the "Promo 2004" (on which the earlier three Seven Inches of Loits were put together) you will also find on "Vere...", but in slightly different and new recorded versions. They have a better production, but cause the band dissed some elements I am missing a bit of the charme of the older versions. For example the sequel of "Clockwork Orange" which introduced the driving "Tuleristsed" is missed, also the speeding up drums at the end of "Furor Aesticus" are calmed down. Another one is the trumpet in "Raiugem Ruunideks"...[or is it just less of that or more to the back?]. What you will recognize soon is that the building up and the structure of some of the songs seem to be very equal. Lots of them start the same driving way and also the drumming and the guitars often follow the same scheme, but without getting boring. Talking about tempi, Loits is far from the typical Black Metal-speed, it's more kind of a relaxed mid-tempo. The songs are spreading kind of a dark atmosphere and the vocals by Lembetu are more grim and dark growls than the typical screamings. Just imagine a mixture between the darkness of the slower Celtic Frost tunes and some calmed down Carpathian Forest tracks with folk-elements and Rock'n'Roll-influences and you'll get Loits. I don't want to talk again about their image. Anybody who's interested in that can read about that in my review for "Promo 2004". This highly recommended album is available as CD with 20-pages-booklet in a jewelcase and also as a luxury digibook-edition.

Author: Stephan Becker
Zine: Obliveon webzine
www.obliveon.de

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us