estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Rattler
25-04-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

LOITS' main problem is the lack of variation, which is a sad fact since much else surrounding this Estonian Heathen / Black Metal band is filled with quality. The sound is strong, the band has an identity and it feels like they really put some effort behind their expression. There are some normal vocals here and there, such as in 'Kodu'. I don't know if LOITS' singer has done some song lessons, but in order to improve he should. In my opinion the grim vocals are way better. A point is that since all lyrics are in their native tongue, it could easily be that fact which makes the normal vocal sounding rather strange to my ears. No matter reason, I don't think they are strong. But the main vocal is, as said, way better and comparable to Storm's of MASTER'S HAMMER. They are very grim, and due to the Estonian pronunciation it feels like the vocals are even grimmer than most Black Metal singing. But somehow I think the vocals don't fit the music. It's like the music is too rockish and straightforward for such a grim vocal. At times, such as in 'Oskar Ruut' I sense some DARKTHRONE, in other times I feel the more raw and punkish attitude of in example MOTÖRHEAD. Back to the opening of this review. I think the album as a whole is too monotonous. The music is performed mostly in mid-tempo and even though the inclusion of some keyboards helps a bit I still find the music a tad too repetitive. Of course I notice the difference between various tracks, like 'Võitluslipp' is different from 'Raiugem Ruunideks', but when the album is finished I'm left with an impression of an album that is too simple for my taste. Add to this that it is too rockish for me, and sum is that “Vere Kutse Kohustab” is not an album that adds something to my life. All this said, I also think it is an album that should be checked out since it has a good sound and the band has an own identity. It may affect your life

Author: Roy Kristensen
Zine: Imhotep magazine / Voices From The Darkside webzine
www.imhotepzine.com

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us