estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Rattler
25-04-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

When thinking of it, the case of Loits may appear to be rather tragic. A group of Estonian extremists, attempting to present their mythical ancestors with an offering of proud, crude, folky pagan metal, bringing forth their glorified nationalistic tradition, but ending up creating an intriguing yet too light and enjoyable, almost parodic-sounding musical product. Bah! why should we care? It is still fun!
The music on Vere Kutse Kohustab features a heavy dose of traditional black metal-ish riffs that reveal influences of Loits' neighboring Scandinavian founders, blended with significant elements of exceedingly simple chord progressions usually characterizing either ignorant British teenage punks of the late 70's or subtle-minded NSBM intellectuals that tell us all about ZOG.
The admixture of elements is interspersed with occasional innovative and creative artistic ideas, usually in the form of unusually performed, folk-oriented movements or creative, innovatively intertwined atmospheric bits. These are balanced by primitive, not to say humorous growls.
The aforementioned amalgamation adds together to quite a beneficial sum: Usually, it is interesting. Whenever it is not, it sure is as entertaining as any heathen may ever be. So, even if not managing to sweep the listener with an inflaming experience of old zealous fame and might, the latest release by Loits (doesn't their name remind you of a sensitive part in the human anatomy?) always remains, in one way or the other, rewarding. Enjoy.

Author: Rod Togam
Zine: Maelstrom webzine
www.maelstrom.nu

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us