estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Realm of Carnivora
28-01-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

Loits certainly do their very own thing. If not musical wise, then by all means concept wise. This is an Estonian band which base their lyrical content on heavy Estonian patriotism where the clear red thread is Estionian soldiers who fought in World War II wearing German uniforms. Putting that fact aside, this is not an album about nazism, but rather the story of their people's fight against opression during the days of the war. On their home page they deny that they are connected to any forms of Nazism or Satanism. It is a fact that the world can been seen in shades of gray rather than in black and white at times.
Not unexpected (concidering the lyrics) there is a good portion of Estonian folk music to be found on this record. The main focus however is on mid tempo black metal of the rocking kind.
The music can often remind you of Taake's Bjoergvin record, and the riffs are just as catchy in Loits hands. The sound is good and suprisingly clean for a band of this sort and there is a good continuity in the variation of different guitar riffs. The melodies are really what puts this album together helped well by good vocal variation.
The songs are sung and growled exclusivly in Estonian, but luckily for us who dont speak the language translations can be found on the bands home page. As mentioned before their singer use many different vocal forms and he masters them all with great ease. I am especially fond of the the moaning, hurting way of using clean vocals on the record. This helps give the album that special characteristic mark.
There are many positive aspects, but is has to be mentioned that Vere Kutse Kohustab leaves a little more to be wanted.The folk music elements work well as a tool of making the album varied, but the band still has a way to reach when it comes to making their songs sound unique. Vere Kutse Kohustab ends up as a good, but maybe a little repetative record. Because of the polished sound, there is not special edge that emphasizes the extreme either. Metal riffs with a rock background can often work on record as long as you keep the variation good, on this point I think Loits are still struggeling a bit in the dark. Read about the band and listen for yourselves at www.loits.org

Author: Rita Trondsgard
Zine: Metal-Norge website
www.metal-norge.com

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us