estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Realm of Carnivora
28-01-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

Estonian LOITS are a 5-piece metal band with a female keyboard player which mixes a dark, moody black metal sound with an 8-beat rock 'n' roll attitude (they call it "Flak 'n' Roll), producing something I'm still not fully decided on.
On one hand, they are a bit fun to listen to and the music is good and interesting. On the other hand, it's some of the music which I don't think is accessible for every metal fan as it is sung only in Estonian language and handles a serious historical theme like the cover artwork already speaks itself. It can be a great originality and an appealing feature if they sing about the history of homeland in their native tongue, but as long as I don't understand what they sing, my enthusiasm about the band and their music will be damped.
Including some spoken words in music, they build up a moody, dramatic song with more of the harsh black vocals, intricate tempo changes and simple chord-bashing with a dash of folky keyboards. It's difficult to make the amalgam of references, but it's uniquely heavy and uniquely catchy in any case. LOITS' Flak 'n' Roll (for me rather "Black 'n' Roll") is quite an underground thing for me. I will, however, get back to them again if I have a chance to understand their lyrics. They must be very interesting.

Author: Masa
Zine: 21st Century Metal webzine
www.21stcenturymetal.net

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us