estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Realm of Carnivora
28-01-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

Just a few months later here estonian Loits are back with a work that remarks a good musical growth, thanks to which new songs get merged with old classics to give life to a homogeneous personality-filled work. The movement towards pagan black metal of early Enslaved is a clear fact, and so they have almost completely abandoned the past Dark Throne references used in the past to focus on a more heroic and folk vision of music, that now closely follows the strong connotation the band gives their own lyrics inspired to a nationalistic spirit, sometimes a bit xenophobe. The pagan black metal they express in this “Vere Kutse Kohustab” (that could be translated as “obliged by the blood call”) is truly persuading, since the songs are not written in blind fury but with awareness, uniting violent sharpened scores with epic warlike openings, with the raw pathos-filled voice to remark the musical constructions the musicians arrange, constructions that also are based on the excellent work of the guitars, engaged with creating rows of riffs, not all so original but always fitting and well alternated, and on a diligent and accurate rhythmical section. The will to divagate has not abandoned the band, that in this sense follow the class of Enslaved, and so the gloomy black metal is put apart to make room for diversions, especially guitar oriented, that really enrich the work of original edges, though seeming unfitting at the first listening. The epic sense is the key to read the work, an intense album that is not that surprising from a band that had already expressed all of their enormous potential in the past. Go on this way.

Author: Giorgio Fogliata
Zine: Silent Scream webzine
www.silentscreamzine.com

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us