estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Rattler
25-04-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

Would I be beaten up by anyone if I‘d call it the best album in between our Baltic States year 2004? (Furthermore, there were not a lot of pretenders for this name anyways...) Artful design reflects well the concept of the band; it‘s a nice decision to release the music, band biography and photo gallery all in one, in an originally designed CD, painted vinyl-like. All in all, respect to “Ledo Takas” and the technical team.
On to the music. First and foremost, I'm glad this is not the case to complain about the quality.
True fans will share the joy of finding the stuff well known from the “Legion Estland”: “The Song Of Old Legionaries” and “Furor Aesticus” (this one still seems one of the hits in this album for me). In fact, the sound in “Vere…” song versions differs: guitars seem to be more harsh, and the ballad-like intros are speeded up to mid-tempo. It's a pleasure to listen to an eclectic “Time to Awake”, in which the energetic metal passages are shifted with war hymns. Vigorous “Baptized in Fire” awards one with catching drum solo. “Home”, of quite and epic style is quite conspicuous. One more that would be a “must” for the listener – catching “Ostar Ruut”. Finally, the tailpiece “Engraved into Runes” grants a hidden track, a war song. That's the way to wake up the national pride!
Stylistically, “Vere Kutse Kohustab” differs from “Ei Kahetse Midagi”, which was much more epic and more black. Recent manner is no more only “nationalistic black metal” – it seems more of black'n'roll with a touch of thrash.
A flaw – taking the album from A right to the Z, you'll get the monotony syndrome.
Overdosing causes a slight form of Aestophilia.
Highly recommended by DiEvA.

Author: DiEvA
Zine: Giljotina website
www.giljotina.tk

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us