estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Realm of Carnivora
28-01-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

Something discrepant from Estonia.

When one is greeted by a warrior-monument on the CD cover, the title of the album is printed in blackletters and the logo of the band contains a life-rune, one should examine the lyrics of the band in question very closely. Because the pictures inside the booklet are quite militaristic it is even more important.

LOITS are from Estonia and present their second album with "Vere Kutse Kohustab" (Obliged By The Call Of Blood). They call their variant of Black metal "Flak'n'Roll", but I would suggest "Rock'n'Black" with influences of Folk instead.

The CD starts off with the smooth acoustic guitars of 'Soomepoiss', but change into a heavy storm after a fe seconds. 'Eesti Auks' and 'Aeg Ärgata' show the most prominent Rock'n'Roll features, while 'Võitluslipp' is remarkable because of its atmosphere. Without any doubt, LOITS master their instruments and know how to play Black metal that you can remember. A small treat in the form of a folksong is hidden after the end of the last regular song. Musically a fine work, indeed!

Why then is there no judgement in points for this album? Simply put: LOITS are, according to themselves and their label, not a right-winged band. However, I personally believe the nationalist lyrics, in Estonian, but English translations are available at the band's website, as well as the militaristic design, including pictures in WW2 uniforms, as too hard to digest. Therefore I cannot give a just final judgment on this CD.


Author: TexJoachim
Zine: Bleeding for Metal
www.bleeding.de

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us