estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Rattler
25-04-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

This one came as a surprise. Loits play basic Black Metal but with notable traces of... rock 'n' roll! In fact they describe themselves as "flak 'n' roll" (er... ooook!) The result is a basic mixture of Norwegian BM such as Carpathian Forest and Darkthrone, along with some hints of Hegemon, all this couple with some catchy rock 'n' roll-influenced beats that make the whole thing quite catchy, to say the least. The best part is: They didn't screw it up. Very often bands who attempt to mix genres like this end up recording a pile of junk, but Loits nailed this one right on the head. The r'n'r influences don't really affect the basic BM atmosphere that one would expect. It does add an up beat vibe to it, but somehow Loits managed to keep the overall album somewhat aggressive and depressing at the same time. But you will find yourself either headbanging madly or even feel like shaking some booty on a track or two (don't worry, Federal law prohibits me from dancing.) The vocals are mostly low BM screeches, very well executed and just loud enough in the mix to be decipherable and at the same time not overshadow the music, which by the way is simply great from beginning to end. The last track has a very short silence followed by what I assume is some Estonian folk song.

The band has a militaristic approach to its lyrics, part of them based on Estonia's involvement in World War II, which seemingly has had them branded as a Nazi band by some people, most likely those who call every other guy a racist. The album is available in a variety of formats (digipak, jewel case, vinyl.) The English translation of the lyrics is available on the band's web site.

I have not heard their previous material, but I must say this was a very pleasant discovery. If you're looking for a refreshingly spiced-up Black Metal album, forget the joke bands out there and give this one a try.

Author: Michel Renaud
Zine: The Metal Crypt
www.metalcrypt.com

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us