estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Rattler
25-04-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

Loits. They're not a Nazi band, or so they say. There is a disclaimer Loits has in the info they sent along with their newest album"Vere Kutse Kohustab" to review. It's a good thing they had this disclaimer too, because I would have thought they were a Naziistic band if I wouldn't have been told so before I listened to it. They do sing about World War II and the pride they have of their Estonian forefathers, and some people I know would mistake that for being racist, but it's not. Either way, a band's political/racial leanings mean little to me, so I don't care one way or another. I just thought I'd state the fact and clear that up for those that might care or those that might get a wrong impression of the band before I proceeded with the review of this fine, fine album.

I so badly want to call Loits a true folk black metal band, but I can't really. I mean, I personally would categorize them as such, but more casual listeners of folk metal wouldn't think the folk element is strong enough to call it folk metal. So be warned before buying this because while this has quite a few folk elements, they aren't prevalent throughout the album. The metal can best be described as Burzum and 90's-era Mayhem meets early Satyricon. "Vere Kutse Kohustab" is mostly a mid-tempo black metal album filled with epic and swaying melodies and far above average musicianship. On top of this all, there are tons of great acoustical interludes to be found, and there's a fair share of accordion parts here as well which give the album a Finntroll/Moosorrow/Windir feeling at times. Hell, the last "hidden" track is an all accordion affair with folk singing around a campfire and it downright rules. All of the music, whether it's just the more black metal parts playing or the folkier parts, is very well structured and catchy as hell.

The lyrics are sung in Estonian, or whatever language the people of Estonia sing in (forgive my ignorance on the subject. The language sounds German to me), and as stated earlier the lyrics deal with war, old ways of life and national pride. The vocalist is frigging outstanding! He sounds like Attila Csihar, only twice as grim if you can believe that! Not only does the vocalist sing in this ultra raw style with ease, but he can also do the "clean" vocals very well when the folkier aspects of the album come into play. Truly one of the best and most unique new vocalists I've heard this year!

For an unheard of band on an unheard of label, this album has great production. The accordion parts mix well with the guitars, drums and bass and the vocals shine through everything well without being too low or loud in the mix.

The packaging and layout is something I can't really comment on as the promo just has the cover art and tracklisting. There's one cool thing on here from a reviewers standpoint, though. This promo contains a multimedia press kit that is included right on the C.D. itself. Unfortunately, I couldn't get it to work because my computer hatched a foul plot against me, but this is the first time I've seen that on a promo and that's a pretty cool idea. The cover art is an excellent photo of a statue of some fallen warrior with sword and shield in hand and battle axe on his belt. The "Loits" logo is cool, even if it's indecipherable. There's a little upside down peace symbol with some "S" shaped boots arranged in a swastica-like fashion. But they aren't a nazi band, honest! Ha! One thing you may want to know is that there are two versions of this album. I believe this version I have is the jewel case version, and there's another digipak version that contains totally different artwork

This album is so damn good that I recommend all fans of black, folk and pagan metal go out and grab it as soon as you can. This is truly a unique album in the "folk metal" genre, and you owe it to yourself to check it out. If I had gotten this album a little bit earlier before I made up my Top 10 Of 2004 list for Metal Coven, this would have definitely made the list. I plan on getting their earlier full length release quick-like and hope they come back soon to give us another dose of accordion enhanced black metal!

Author: Britton Dicks
Zine: Metal Coven
www.metalcoven.com

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us