estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Rattler
25-04-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

Well, well… LOITS managed to release their new album before I’ve finished this issue. Anyway, I think it’s good because now you have reviews of two efforts from this band here; and since both are very positive, I hope everyone who haven’t heard those Estonians yet will give them a chance and buy some of their releases. Believe me – there is some high quality music to find, LOITS plays some of the best black-metal sounds nowadays! “Vere Kutse Kohustab” is not an exception! This new album follows the path, which was marked by their previous releases, starting with debut CD “Ei Kahetse Midagi” (shit, how many years ago did I hear it for the first time? Is it already over two years?!). It’s a style that was progressing with every effort. It’s pure black-metal, with a proper dose of atmospheric playing… But don’t get me wrong – word “atmospheric” isn’t about some wimpy gothic / vampiric boring crap; it’s about playing your music in slower tempos, sometimes with a melancholic mood, it’s not also playing fast as hell! Everything in here is about creating a specific mood. There were many comparisons with early SATYRICON, ULVER in the past – there are still influences from those / such kind of bands, but definitely LOITS managed to transform it into something own. This band has its own personality, own style and sound and that’s a big achievement. I think that it’s because LOITS bases everything on things, which aren’t common in the Western Europe – like Estonian culture, traditions and patriotism… Also singing in Estonian is very unique and characteristic for them (but “Vere Kutse Kohustab” has also some English written lyrics). Generally, I don’t find many things I couldn’t like on this album. Actually it’s perfect for my taste, so I was listening to it day after day… I think that the only fault of “Vere Kutse Kohustab” I could personally find is “Furor Aesticus” track, which is just BURZUM song – there are riffs purely taken from one of the old Vickernes’ anthems… But I hope it was just an accident and won’t happen again he, he!

P666............................................................90

Author: Marcin
Zine: Panzerfaust

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us