estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Realm of Carnivora
28-01-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

The title of this very interesting work means "Obliged By The call of Blood", and these brilliant Estonians are obviously immensely proud of their cultural heritage. It is really no wonder that they are sensitive about such issues since the Baltic countries only regained their independense some thirteen years ago under most turbulent circumstances. The lyrics are all in their native tongue, but thankfully enough they have translated the titles into English. Their label - that has now released the band's second full-lenght album - is Lithuanian.

Anyway, as scary as their ultra-patriotism and war-aesthetics (front cover for instance features a statue of some mediaeval hero with sword in hand) may seem to some, one should look beyond that - besides it's not excactly anything new in this - and on the way bear in mind that they come from a country where freedom is not taken for granted but fought for, and you will discover a work of quite stunning quality and beauty that offers a rare blend of originality and an almost extreme degree of accessibility. This album contains material of such exciting variety that it could - or better yet should - make almost any band within the black metal-milieu envious! Not that black metal is in anyway a satisfactory description of their musical position; you'll find as diverse elements here as mellow acoustic parts, folk-music, excerpts from military marches, a lot of classical heavy metal riffing and both black metal- and clean vocal style on this powerpacked album! The band members themselves - having existed since 1996 and allegedly being the fastest growing band in the Baltic countries - prefer to call it Flak N'Roll (!), yet another reference to war. That might just be as good a name as any! Anyway, despite this wild mix it is not at all obscure, but actually a highly commercial product, which at times - at least on the most straight forward tracks like say number 2 and 5 - sounds a bit like the new Satyricon and/or Rammstein, only - if anything - more interesting...

Give this a shot and you'll widen your horizon for sure! A damn fine work with top songs and excellent production and superb sound quality. Baltic metal is obviously on the move! Be on the lookout!

Rating: 10/10

Author: Richard Saure
Zine: Beat The Blizzard
www.beattheblizzard.com

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us