estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Rattler
25-04-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

'Vere Kutse Kohustab' is the title of the second album of this Estonian horde. The title means something like 'Obliged by the call of blood' and the album contains twelve pieces of Heathen Black Metal. Actually, I’m depriving the band by labeling it with this term; what we hear on this album is a lot more than heathen black metal. Loits lacks the sincere mentality of thousands of bands who are playing their music exclusively within the visual borders of their genre. Loits exceeds these borders. So you can hear a fresh sound/style thanks to the typical rock 'n roll-groove and some punk-alike guitar riffs on the album.
People who are already familiar with the previous album and the 7" EP's that Loits has released in the past know what to expect from these men and woman on "Vere Kutse Kohustab". Their style hasn't changed a lot actually and during the 55 minutes playing time you won't get surprised by the songs. Nevertheless, all tracks are of a very high level so it will absolutely not disappoint you in any way.
Trademarks of Loits are the very catchy melodies mixed with a dirty/raw style of instrument-torturing, so the real underground feeling stays alive. While listening to the album, the love of the band members for their country becomes very clear thanks to the use of melodies and inspiration from old traditional songs used in the Loits tracks. Also the lyrics are sung in the Estonian language and are dealing with historical subjects; honouring their forefathers. Lembetu the vocalist of the band is the main pacesetter of the band. Both, his screams and his clean vocals perfectly fit in the music; his screams are even one of the greatest I've heard in a long time; they're raw and dirty yet still quite clear, see it as a mixture of the screams from Immortal's Abbath and Satyricon's Satyr.
Not all tracks on the album are totally unknown to fans of the band. 'Vanade Leegionäride Laul' and 'Furor Aesticus' have already been released on the 'Legion Estland' 7" EP, and the songs 'Raiugem Ruunideks' and 'Tuleristsed' can be found on the other 7", namely 'Raiugem Ruunideks'. With 'Vere Kutse Kohustab' Loits released an above average album with lots of potential to grow bigger and establish a steady name in the underground scene.


Author: Geert
Zine: Vampire Magazine
www.vampire-magazine.com

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us