estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Realm of Carnivora
28-01-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

I just found a very interesting review of Loits previous demo collection on another website (which will remain anonymous) spending 90% of the review trying to argue that they are as politically wrong as can be. I also took a look at their imagery and read into their message before reviewing this release and came to a decision that they were merely patriotic and imbibed in debt to their forefathers struggle to free them from the fascistic oppression in their occupied Estonian homeland during the 2 World Wars. Singer Lembetu stated that I had decoded their message and the band struggle to break the common black and white worldview of most people. Also they have suffered for their art with many European festival concert appearances being cancelled. So why do they dress in military garb you ask and sing songs of Nationalistic pride? Well why shouldn’t they? I mean before you jump on your moral high horse let’s get the pointing stick out and cast cries of indignation at other bands as well. Lets bring Laibach into the conversation (another prime example of a band incorrectly politically misconstrued); hold on what about Motorhead with the nazi regalia and Saxon with their Eagle motif. That was dodgy wasn’t it? Let’s ban them all. In reality the fact is that most fascist bands don’t try to hide the fact do they? Look at the likes of Absurd, Graveland, Kristallnacht and Nokturnal Mortum, do you see them trying to deny the fact that they are down and out fascists? Thought not, point made lets get on with the fucking music.
Well the music itself is equally as obtuse when it comes to categorisation. Loits are in a way masters of confusion. They want listeners (and no doubt journalists) to dig deep and discover where they are coming from. Labelling the 55 minutes of music on Vere Kutse Kohustab (Obliged By The Call Of Blood) as black metal would be falling woefully short of the mark. There are certainly moments, with the occasional passage of all out blasting and furious rampaging pace. One cannot ignore the blackened pallor of the vocals either, which are gravely rasped and cleanly tormented (and heightened by the fact that they are sung in Mother tongue). The best descriptive genre definer that I duly noted on the press release though is “flak n’ roll”. There you have it in a nutshell, as this is an album that will give the listener a damn good strafing. Many of the tracks are rerecorded versions of the demo tracks, and for me this was like greeting an old comrade at arms. The patriotic flow of this is overwhelming in places and the melodies march along with a confident, conquering swagger. Lush clean guitar augmentations are bolstered into a massive yell on opener Soomepoiss (Finnish Boy). The mid paced assault is one that is mournfully enhanced by a passage of accordion and waves of turbulent drum blasts. The flak rolls in good and proper by Eesti Auks (In Honour Of Estland). This reminds me of latter day Satyricon and bounces you all the heavier at the midway point by utilising some jagged 3-chord punk riffs. Olden Enslaved melodies flavour Võitluslipp (Battlestandard), the vocals are an oratory call to arms, beseeching in their clamour to rise up against oppression. The translated lyrics sum it all up, “Ancient heroes, rest in peace. Your blood wasn’t shed in vain. We swear to protect, no matter the peril. Our land, our islands and sea.” Karje plays her part adding a Gothic atmosphere at times in the keyboard department. It is the pounding delivery of an unrelenting, drum rolling, death crush on Nimeta Haud (Nameless Grave) that sees Loits at maximum potential and delivering one hell of a feudal slap. Still the album continues to deliver, never seeming to run out of steam. Furor Aesticus, climaxes in a breathtaking polka jig that fair takes your breath away.
Finishing the album is a hidden gem in the form of a patriotic accordion etched song of rebellion and hope. If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them. Honestly this is a wonderful album and not only musically but thematically as well. For once I have listened to a piece of music and been so engrossed in the concept behind it that I feel like I have learnt from it as well.
Grab this one from Ledo Takas and enlighten yourself here. www.geocities.com/kossila/index.htm


Author: Pete
Zine: Live 4 Metal
www.live4metal.com

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us