estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Rattler
25-04-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

Estonian pagan-black, released by Lithuanian label Ledo Takas. Please don´t think that Loits play Slavonic pagan-black which is popular these days. No, it´s rather the other way around.

The press-release attached to my promo copy had an explanation of the band´s ideology written from a historical perspective. Something quite interesting for our listener to listen to. Unlike many of their colleagues, Loits do not look back to the ancient times. It´s enough for the Estonian lads to look only half-century back, to the times of Estonia´s occupation by Soviet troops. The essence of the band´s concept lies in glorifying their own soldiers, who were serving in German army during WW II.

But let´s come back to the music. It is presented strictly within the limits of genre. Pagan-metal which i would compare with, for example, Temnozor´. Probably only the quality of this Loits release is better. The band also tries to diversify its sound with accordion, but this happens quite rarely, so it´s hard to blame Estonians´ music for being too varied. Naturally, all the lyrics are written in Estonian, but the label promises that the booklet will contain them translated into English, the mother tongue of all metalheads. The album ends with a song performed on same accordion, which strongly reminds of our warsongs, but probably that war indeed evoked similar feelings in common soldiers fighting for both sides.



Author: Vit Belov
Zine: Musica Must Die
musica.mustdie.ru

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us