estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Realm of Carnivora
28-01-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Metsatöll
Terast mis hangund me hinge

Metsatöll is a folk/pagan metal band from Estonia. In Estonian metal scene it’s quite famous whereas elsewhere little known. So far, they have only released this one album, but we’re to receive addition soon.

This album totally turned my opinion about folk metal as a style upside down. I had always known that us Estonians are capable of doing great metal music, but I couldn’t possibly expect something THAT great. My point is – this album found its place among my very favorites, together with the gods Blind Guardian and Metallica. But what makes it so great? Here we go…
First: the fact that the singing is done in Estonian. I love to hear my own native tongue. Everything must not be in English.
Second: the guitar play. Sometimes quite thrashy and has some sheer aggressiveness in them, in perfect match with the lyrics, whereas sometimes it’s melodic and slow.
Third: use of folk music instruments like bagpipes and jew’s harp. Furthermore, the musicians’ skill with these.
Fourth: the lyrics. The very best I’ve heard, in 100% match with my beliefs and ideas. They’re mainly about Estonians’ fight for their freedom in the 13th century against the Christian invaders. Though the Estonians had to succumb to the overwhelming forces of steel-clad knights, these songs and the knowing of history let me understand and believe that we did not cower. There are also lyrics about wolves, nature and Estonian ancient mythology.

Not much more to say… the music and the singing are both very unique, as folk metal must be. The album contains metallized versions of Estonian ancient folk songs, which makes the album twice as valuable. Everything is presented with awesome perfection and good production. I really cannot see a single flaw in this masterpiece, save the fact that it’s too short. But that’s with every truly good piece of music, is it not?

Author: DemiGötter
Zine: Metalstorm
www.metalstorm.ee

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

karel  10.11.2005 16:36
Metsatöll is the BEST. I've never met such band like Metsatöll is. And new album, i cant find words to discribe it...... Also if i could but situation dont let i would be for sure at the presentation 10218. For the last : Metsatöll is the best estonian metal band, at least for me...


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us