estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Intrepid
16-12-2018
latest update
Worse Than Failure
22-08-2018
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

Patriotic Estonian heavy metal? Is it possible?

Apparently it is. Doesn’t it make me laugh? Sure it does, but not too much.
Not more than usual heavy metal.
Actually it’s an interesting question: why does a die-hard Estonian patriot always seem comical? An old Estonian National Independence Party member would naturally blame the press. But I for example don’t think that only collaborators and cosmopolitans work in the newspapers. I believe that every normal person, even if he or she is a journalist or a Russian spy, experiences a national feeling every now and then. Another matter is if he’s willing to declare it loudly by chanting: „I sing in your honour, dear homeland Estonia, crush your shackles of slavery, and freely breathe!” Lydia Koidula is dead and long ago buried, times of awakening are over. The modern patriotic „hooray!” has an outlet in other activities: a loyal citizen spends his weekend swimming at Pühajärve, drinking Estonian beer and vodka and enjoying some good home made rock music.
But of course, a metalhead is not your ordinary citizen. He can chop chickens to pieces on the stage (although he probably can’t anymore, thanks to animal rights activists), make ultra-sexist jokes and exercise black magic. And we don’t know whether they really mean it or whether they’re just kidding. Sometimes it matters, sometimes it don’t. In case of Loits, I’d like it if they really meant what they’re doing.
Yes, patriotic Estonian heavy metal! Songs of Sinimäed, Izjum and other battlefields, where Estonians in German uniforms fought off the enemy. Some of the authors of the lyrics are actually the veterans themselves. Hendrik Arro, a former member of the 11th Nightbombers squadron, wrote the prologue to the album. Had someone told me a couple of days ago that all this was possible without sounding awkward I wouldn’t have believed them. But I have to believe my ears. „Vere Kutse Kohustab” is indeed a very special album, and not only for the Estonian scene. Why was the Estonian Rifle Corps better than the Estonian Legion? They had better songs. Although they borrowed a lot from talented Russian composers. Now, Loits retaliates and presents the legionaries – for many, unfortunately posthumously – lots of excellent two-key rock’n’roll.
Estonian Government, where is your red crane and a Russian driver? Where are your bloodhounds, teargas and the riot squad? Where’s your semiotics battalion? Loits is ready for a fight!
Yes, „Vere Kutse Kohustab” is a really good album. If it had been a joke, it would be even better. 8


Author: Mart Juur
Zine: Eesti Ekspress
www.ekspress.ee

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


2004-2019 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us