estonianmetal.com
Username: Password:    
      register
estonianmetal.combandsnewsreleasesreviewsinterviewsgigsstatsdownloadscontactslinks


latest release
latest band
Worse Than Failure
25-11-2015
latest update
Rattler
25-04-2017
latest review
Taak
"Koerapööriöö"

08-12-2014
latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

24-03-2015
subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
28-03-2006
added relevant links to band info

22-03-2006
updated bands navigation

15-11-2005
banners in gigs section

 
Loits
Vere Kutse Kohustab

LOITS „Vere Kutse Kohustab“ – ode for high technicality and “anger“ for Estonia and nationality

So far, I have been occupied with reviews for foreign acts, except for few products of local bands. So this time, the job was more or less ordinary. But in the heat of organizing the affairs of CANNIBAL CORPSE invasion in Vilnius I received a promo copy of a recent release. Yeah, I recognized the label. But what about the authors?
The attempt to encrypt the title of both the band and the album on the cardboard cover was unsuccessful. Anyway, the records on CD were clearer. Well, there are LOITS and their new album „Vere Kutse Kohustab“. This is the first time for me to review a product of neighbours. “Baltic Thunder”, “Tėvynei” (“For Homeland”), “Goat Guts Over Europe 2003”, “Kilkim Žaibu” (“Rise In Lightning”), “Prieblanda” (“Twilight”) – oh yeah, I found Estonian comrades to be rather frequent guests in Lithuania. As I have seen them play a number of shows here, the chance to write a few words about the personification of their creation in plastics dissected by laser seemed to be attractive.
My eyes still refused to get used to the unusual type of track titles, consequently I decided to listen the tracks one by one in order to get a general impression. What can be found here then? The “sharp” still not very brutal vocals, sound of pagan/black/folk metal with evident spice of patriotism radical enough – all being the elements of LOITS visiting-card for years. Hence the joy of skinheads is quite understandable. But all of this descends from their last period. The black stage-uniform of rigid, kind of military cut appears in front of my eyes insensibly. Why? That’s because the disc also gives you 55 minutes of severe and hard music, blowing spirit of fight, amazing perfect techniques, flavoured by “clear” vocals, unexpected inserts of folk motives, diluted with melancholic, soft and easy pieces. Only some kind of anger and blood, grave but still uplifted, feels in all 12 (maybe 13?) tracks. This points that those Estonians have nothing to do with sweet and glazy pop music. The whole album is rather smooth in topic but that is not true considering each individual song. Those are different, interesting, created without any pattern undoubtedly or, Thunderer sees, not copying anybody though… The ninth track (“Home”, my eyes get used to those letters at last!) is a little bit similar to AMON AMARTH, the twelfth one seems to sound like MAYHEM. No associations anymore.
Anyway, it is worth to mark few songs because of their maturity, unexpected turns of sound and really pretty techniques. Those are fifth “Baptized In Fire“, followed by „The Song Of Old Legionaries“ and eighth „Nameless Grave”. Ninth and twelfth tracks were mentioned already above. The latter is especially original. It seems as if everything is finished at seventh minute but after a short silence it continues. There is one more song not labelled on the cover… What the hell does it sound like? One could recognize something like German table songs or marches (calm, calm) whereas accordion tunes just recall the spirit of old Russian movies. This song lasts for four minutes more, so the finale is more than a surprise. Maybe an ending like that is suitable for a job well done, ha? You must hear this album, and even better – to have it in your collection. So, don’t waste your time!

Rating 9/10.


„Vere Kutse Kohustab“
„Ledo Takas Rec.“ 2004
Running time 55:16

Sorry, my eyes are tired looking at the print on the cover. So I can just say there are 12 tracks and one covered, I guess. If you would like to encipher those let’s invoke manual of typography and your own fantasy!

Author: Birute Surinenaite
Zine: Ferrum
www.ferrum.lt

Check also:
Other reviews
08-12-2014 Taak - Koerapööriöö
22-02-2013 Urt - Ussikuningas - Saatanhark II
18-02-2013 Neoandertals - Ebu Gogo Gutting the Child
show all reviews


Add your comment:

Name

E-mail

Comment





User comments for this release:

Dark patrick  08.12.2004 11:42
Quote: "If anything it reminds me of Edith Piaf and sums up images of gnarly old villagers stubbornly playing draughts and drinking wine on the streets as bombs explode all around them."

I never actually liked the "hidden" song "Metsavendade laul" particularly, but this visual image brought it much closer to my heart. I'm not kidding when I say I had shivers down my spine after reading this passage. Thanks, Pete!

cantor_satana  17.02.2005 12:04
Thank you very much Loits, the gig in Torvi(Finland) were great and allso new album is fantastic, more of this.
CS.

triin  13.04.2005 15:42
jummala mega bänd....originaalne muusika ja .......

elle  08.05.2005 22:09
Loits on nii meeletult hea,et pole sõnu...mis seksikas vokaal..

autoblinda  04.04.2006 23:42
wow...what a horrible thing ,to sing in a native language.

ignorant

muumia  08.07.2006 19:11
its not even just metal..its like vierlieng sdhooting at russian bomber formation..and thats what most of its about...yes yes..even my grandpa was in that so condemned estonian legion...and so what...he was there..as many of our greandads were there..fighting for a reason..fighting for brighter sun to shine...every one wouldve done that..everyone from every nation...we failed...but...we are alive now...and its nothing there to stop us mwahahaaaaa


2004-2017 Estonianmetal.com. All rights reserved e-mail us